Take Courage

Faith gives us courage. Courage isn’t the absence of fear. It is rising up in the face of fear and moving forward anyway. In times of fear, and there are times in this life that will scare you, let faith rise above the fear and lead you.

Faith is not an emotion. It is choosing to stand on the Truth of God’s word. He promised that He will never leave us or forsake us and with the gift of His presence comes peace.

Jesus said “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” – John 16:33

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.”
– John 14:27

This isn’t the peace that means everything is fine. Jesus Himself says we’ll have troubles. This is the peace that comes even in the middle of hard days, in the middle of fear. When we chose to move forward in faith, even when we’re afraid, His peace will flood our hearts.

Are greatest testimonies aren’t the words we say but our story of God’s faithfulness in our lives. I’ve seen miracles! And I’ve seen God come near and walk with me in the fire. When we, as Christians, walk through the fire we are given the opportunity to deepen our faith. We need to share our stories with each one because in doing so we encourage one another. Paul tell us that we should be encouraging one another! (1 Thessalonians 5:11). When life has hit and has brought fear and heartbreak I have a friend who listens to my cries but then tells me ” He is walking with you”.

It’s not that don’t know this… But to be reminded in those moments is what I need. These words are the most comforting thing anyone has ever told me. I love that she continues to remind me of our God’s faithfulness. It’s one of those things that when life gets sarry and even though she isn’t around I hear her voice in my mind telling me “He is walking with you”. I mange to crack a little smile and say “thank you God, for the reminder that you are here with me and for such a good friend”.

Some of my friends I keep the closest are women of faith. Ones who have a little more experience at life and alot more wisdom than me. When I am told things like “He is walking with you” it isn’t something just to sound nice. It is something she is convinced of because she has seen God’s faithfulness in her life time and time again. This is the wisdom she has gained. I get to benefit from it when she shares her story with me. I’m not really sure why these women up with having me around but I’m glad they do.

It is great to have friends to walk through this life with but let me encourage you to have some who have walked ahead of you.

Are greatest testimonies aren’t the words we say but our story of God’s faithfulness in our lives.

Crystal Russell

This is why I share my story now. I share for the girl like me. I once found it difficult to relate to some messages. I thought things like “that’s great and I’m glad she got the miracle. But what do I do? I got the diagnosis that I prayed not to get. What do I do now…?”

I didn’t know how to walk well in faith here and it broke me. I have never felt more lonely then at that time. Isolation is a tacktick our enemy will use. It has worked all too well on me. When Isolated it’s easy to listen to his lies and began to think they are true. Defeated and broken my voice was silenced. The enemy knows he has lost me but that doesn’t stop him from trying to keep me down. But God (such beautiful words) loved me too much to leave me there and came after my heart.

So, I share today so that the girl like me knows she isn’t alone! God is in the miracles! But He is also the God that walks with us in the fire! He will not leave us! He will not forsake us! (Deuteronomy 31:8) His grace is sufficient (2 Corinthians 12:9). It is the grace that brought us salvation but it doesn’t stop there. It is the grace that gives us the strength we need and raises us up.

When we walk through the fire we are also put on display for the world to see. For believers and unbelievers to see. They are watching to see what God is doing to do (Daniel 3). They are watching to see what we are going to do. Will we walk away from God and all that we say we believe? Or will we hold to our faith? If we hold to our faith why do we do so? We must share out stories. God is faithful! He will not leave us or forsake us. This is our God!

Be Strong and courageous, Do be frightened, do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go” – Joshua 1:9

Be watchful, stand firm in the faith, act like men, be strong. -1 Corinthians 16:13

So take courage and stand strong in your faith, hold to every promise found in scripture when the worst of life comes. And when life is too hard to stand, kneel. Kneeling isn’t a place of defeat it is our best place to fight. For it is on our knees that we pray!

Let’s remember to also encourage ourselves. Here is one of my favorite songs

Father thank you for every promise you give us in Your Word. My I hold tightly to to these when the worst of this life comes my way. Thank you for the gift of the church and those who have walked ahead of me. Thank you for the friends who share her wisdom with me. She encourages me and strengthens me as she points to You and Your faithfulness in her life. This is why I will share my story so that Your faithfulness will be seen. I pray that is might encourage another. Thank you that you will never leave me or forsake me, thank You walk with me.

~Amen

2 thoughts on “Take Courage

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.